Silent Devotion 

Standard

We lay here, curled up in bed, your head on my stomach. I run my fingers through your fur as I try to sleep.

My mind races as your breathing slows to its usual calming rhythm. You look at me deeply, as if speaking to my very soul directly.

Stinging tears fill my eyes, blurring my vision of you slightly. I feel a paw move quickly and instantly our faces are inches apart.

Your weighty presence is soothing and my eyes feel heavy, the anger and frustration melting away with every breath you take.

A paw across the chest eases me back into the soft pillow safely, my body surrendering to exhaustion. All night you lay there watching over me, showing only silent devotion.

4 thoughts on “Silent Devotion 

Leave a Reply

